Central PA HOBY Program Recognition

The following awards were presented to Central PA HOBY in recognition of its high achievements by HOBY International at its summer Training Institute for key volunteers throughout the organization:

  • Outstanding Leadership Seminar 1991-2017
  • Outstanding Corporate Board 2000-2002, 2009-2017
  • Outstanding Recruitment Award 2006-2017
  • Superior CLEW Program 2017; CLEW Excellence 2016; CLEW Recognition 2013-2015
  • 1st place Website Award 2017
  • Certificate for partnership with Phi Sigma Pi 2016-17
  • Certificate for 10-year accomplishment of beating recruitment goal

Photo on the right: Central PA volunteers at HOBY Training Institute 2017, with awards!

Central PA HOBY Hero Award

The HOBY Hero Award was established in 2004 to recognize truly amazing HOBY volunteers. This award is presented annually to all of those individuals who have served Central PA HOBY continuously for 15 years, no matter what their volunteer role.  Past award Recipients include:

Ashley Miller
Chris Shelly

Melinda Bertling
McKenzie Jones-Rounds – HOBY ’01
Cathy Shelley – HOBY ’82

Heather Beamesderfer – HOBY ’99
Tanya West

Andrew J. Miller – HOBY ’98
Sara Sweger – HOBY ’98

Heather Myers – HOBY ‘93
Kristen Verrastro – HOBY ’97

Patty Glasser

Pete Cangemi – HOBY ‘95
Erin Mumma Topham – HOBY ’95
Robert Nied – HOBY ‘95

Amy Beamer – HOBY ’84
Brian Crecco – HOBY ’94
Ken Potter

Bryan Tate

Suzanne Graney – HOBY ‘85

Steve St. John

Vicki Ferrence Ray – HOBY ‘89

David Ferruzza
Elam Herr
Doug Hill
Steve Samara
Stephanie Yentsch

David H. Baker, Jr. Volunteer of the Year Award

The Volunteer of the Year Award is presented annually to an outstanding Central PA HOBY Seminar volunteer. The award was instituted in 1999 and renamed in 2001 to honor the previous year’s recipient, the late David H. Baker, Jr., who became actively involved with Pennsylvania’s youth in 1990 through his term as Kiwanis District Governor. He was a constant presence at Central PA HOBY and at local & national Circle K and Key Club conventions. No matter what his role, you could always find Dave wearing his infamous   pin-laden yellow Kiwanis jacket.

2018 Sarah Smith
2017 Chris Shelly
2016 David Ferruzza
2015 Beth Awalt HOBY ’04 & Courtney Adamo
2014 Carol Verish
2013 Heather Myers – HOBY ’93
2012  Cathy Shelly
2011  Kelley Gibson
2010 Tanya West
2009  Carol Foley
2008  Andrew & Ashley Miller
2007  Sara Sweger – HOBY ‘98
2006  Bryan Tate
2005  Patty Glasser
2004  Steve St. John
2003  Betsy Crossman – HOBY ‘96
2002  Andrew Miller – HOBY ‘98
2001  Melissa Plotkin
2000  David H. Baker
1999  Jennifer Lowe

Central PA HOBY Ambassador Volunteer of the Year Award

The Ambassador of the Year Award was established in conjunction with HOBY’s Leadership for Service program curriculum in 1998 and was first awarded in 1999. The award is presented annually to the Central PA HOBY alumni ambassador who completes and logs the most volunteer service hours on the HOBY website at www.hoby.org within one year after attending the seminar.

’17-’18 Maya Holmes, Williamsport Area High School
’16-’17 Connery McFadden, St. John Neumann Regional Academy
’15-’16 SeAnna Reeves-Bump, Towanda Area High School
’14-’15  Christopher Govus, Pocono Mountain East High School
‘13-‘14 Leah Silverman, Abington Heights High School
‘12-‘13 Patrick Dykiert, East Stroudsburg High School
‘11-‘12  Rachel Echevarria, Carlisle High School
‘10-‘11  Brittany Karpinski, Bloomsburg Area High School
‘09-‘10  Zachary Kosak, Tunkhannock Area High School
‘08-‘09  Brian Lynch, Ephrata High School
‘07-‘08  Jordan Krebs, Greencastle-Antrim High School
‘06-‘07  Allison Busby, Columbia High School
‘05-‘06  Courtney Keiser, Garden Spot Area High School
‘04-‘05  Kevin Smith, Trinity High School
‘03-‘04  Kristina Lascombe, James M. Coughlin High School
‘02-‘03  Lauren Forsyth, East Stroudsburg High School
‘01-‘02  Megan Keller, Lancaster Christian School
‘00-‘01  Anna Rodgers, West Perry High School
‘99-‘00  Joshua Champagne, Susquehanna Township High School
‘98-‘99  Andrew Miller, Delone Catholic High School


Central PA HOBY Outstanding Sponsor

The Outstanding Sponsor Award is presented annually to a company or organization in recognition of their support in the forms of financial contribution, gift-in-kind donation and volunteer time, as well as overall relationship with Central PA HOBY.

2018: Shippensburg University Foundation

2017: General Federation of Women’s Clubs-Pennsylvania

2016: Rotary Club of Hanover and Rotary Club of York

2015: The Hershey Company

2014: St. John’s Driving School

2013: S.A.S.I. Smart Appraisal Service

2012: Higher Information Group

2011: Lancaster General Health

2010: Pepperidge Farms and Herr’s Foods

2009: Turkey Hill

2008: Martin’s Potato Chips

2007: Bank of Lancaster County

2006: The Wolf Organization

2005: Pavone, Inc.

2004: WITF, Inc.

2003: Susquehanna Pfaltzgraff Co.

2002: High Food Services, Ltd.

2001: Acorn Press

2000: Martin Limestone, Inc. and Snavely & Dosch, Inc.

1999: Armstrong World Industries and Susquehanna Pfaltzgraff Co.

1998: Armstrong World Industries

1997: Anderson Pretzel Company and Fulton Bank


Jack Tawney World Leadership Congress Scholarships

D.L. “Jack” Tawney was a founding volunteer of Pennsylvania HOBY n 1979. He remained a volunteer and constant presence for more than 24 years until his death in October 2002. Some say that he was the embodiment of the HOBY spirit. He served in various roles for both the local and national organization over the years, but his favorite role was that of facilitator for the World Leadership Congress. Thus, the Jack Tawney WLC Scholarship was established to sponsor one boy and one girl from Central PA HOBY to attend the WLC each year.  The first scholarships were given in 2003, Jack Tawney’s 25th year.

Michael Grebeck, Elmer L. Meyers High School
Nadiya Sieger, Marion Catholic High School

Joshua Po, Bishop McDevitt High School
Kaitlin Ahern, Dunmore High School

Jason Lee, State College Area High School
Zoe Timothy, Susquenita High School

Rocco Roguskie, Shenandoah Valley Jr./Sr. High School
Amelia Blanchard, Conestoga Valley High School

Luke Yamulla – MMI Preparatory School
Victoria Kline – MMI Preparatory School

Eric Sklanka, Pittston Area High School
Emily Phillips, Conestoga Valley High School

Tyler Bielinski, Holy Cross High School
Daniella Snyder, Shikellamy High School

Nicholas Lock, Galeton High School
Katherine Galvis, Linden Hall

Garett Craig-Lucas, Lackawanna Trail High School
Devan George, Honesdale High School

Hunter Harrell, Spring Grove Area High School
Carly Sokach, Wyoming Seminary

Jonathan Mercuri, Pottsville Area High School
Mary Beth Seitz-Brown, Spring Grove Area High School

Richard Maopolski, Old Forge High School
Jessica DeMarchis, Jim Thorpe High School

Lance Miller, Mifflinburg Area High School
Kirby Thomas, Tunkhannock Area High School

Jenner Gibson, Cumberland Valley High School
Cody Musselman, Fairfield Area High School

Timothy Nye, Annville Cleona High School
Gabrielle Quatse, Lancaster Catholic High School

Mike Ducker, Baldwin Sr. High School
Kelly Coughlin, Dover Area High School

 Central PA HOBY ALA Scholarship

HOBY’s Advanced Leadership Academy is a program for any US or international high school student who has completed his or her junior or senior year.  While attendees are not required to have participated in other HOBY programming, Central PA HOBY has partnered with HOBY International to award one scholarship annually to a member of the Seminar’s Team Alumni who is a hard working junior staffer who embodies the HOBY spirit.

2017: Tyler Zimerofsky, Nativity BVM High School

2016: Courtney Comonie, Mid-Valley Jr./Sr. High School

2015: Erik Homberger, Warwick High School

2014: Sarah Hoang, Central Dauphin High School